Home

Real Estate Agency

Real Estate Agency

Context

This application is a project realized as part of my training taught on Udemy entitled " React - Maitriser le rendu coté serveur avec Next.js", course given in French. It allowed the participants to put into practice everything they learned throughout the training.

Challenges and Development

React is one of the most used javascript frameworks in the world. Front-end developers use it to develop their applications. Often they are confronted with different problems when they want to develop applications that can be indexed by search engines.

Indeed React uses client-side rendering like any other SPA (Single page Application) such as Vue.js, Angular or Svelte, i.e. the browser will first download all the javascript then execute it and then the page becomes visible. this has some drawbacks

  • The initial loading time will be longer because the browser will first download and then execute the js.
  • Difficulty to reference an application because search engine robots do not have access to the html of the page because it is executed on the client side.

To solve this problem with React, we use server-side rendering with a Node.js server, but this also involves configurations that are often very daunting for beginners:

The developer must :

  • configure Webpack
  • configure the splitting code (partitioning of the code)
  • configure the splitting code (partitioning of the code)
  • manage the minification of the code
  • hydrate the routes etc...

There are several configurations and modifications to be made to implement server-side rendering and for an inexperienced developer this can be challenging and it is not as advisable to implement server-side rendering on its own but to use existing solutions to overcome this problem.

This is where Next.js comes in, which allows to do server-side rendering, static generation and incremental static generation. Static generation (incremental) allows you to generate all the pages under construction, which will make the application faster because the data is already available and no need to make a request to retrieve the data.

Concretely Next.js offers the possibility to use :

  • Server-side rendering (SEO friendly)
  • Static-generation (SEO friendly)
  • Incremental static generation (SEO friendly)
  • Client-side rendering (Not SEO friendly)

Conclusion

To summarize with Next.js you can use client-side rendering for dashboard or private pages, server-side rendering for frequently changing page content, static generation for static pages and incremental static generation for pages whose content changes occasionally.

It has been deployed on Vercel

Home

Agence Immobilière

Agence Immobilière

Contexte

Cette application est un projet réalisée dans le cadre de ma formation dispensée sur Udemy intitulé " React - Maitriser le rendu coté serveur avec Next.js". Elle a permis aux participants de mettre en pratique tout ce qu'ils ont appris tout au long de la formation.

Défis et Développement

React est l'un des frameworks javascript le plus utilisé dans le monde. les développeurs front-end l'utilisent pour développer leurs applications. Souvent ils sont confrontés aux différents problèmes lorsqu'ils veulent développer des applications capable d'être indexée par les moteurs de recherche.

En effet React utilise le rendu côté client comme tous les autres SPA (Single page Application) telles que Vue.js, Angular ou Svelte, c.à.d Le navigateur va d'abord télécharger tous le javascript ensuite l'exécuter et après la page devient visible. cela comporte des inconvénients

  • Le temps de chargement initial sera plus long car le navigateur va d'abord télécharger ensuite exécuter le js.
  • Difficulté de référencer une application car les robots des moteurs de recherche n'ont pas accès au html de la page car elle est exécutée côté client

Pour remédier à ce problème avec React, nous utilisons le rendu côté serveur avec un serveur Node.js, mais cela implique aussi des configurations souvent très rebutantes pour les débutants :

Le développeur doit :

  • configurer Webpack
  • configurer babel
  • configurer le code splitting (partitionnement du code)
  • gérer la minification du code
  • hydrater les routes etc...

il y a plusieurs configurations et modifications à faire pour implémenter le rendu côté serveur et pour un développeur peu expérimenté cela peut être éprouvant et il n'est pas aussi conseillé d'implémenter le rendu côté serveur tout seul mais d'utiliser des solutions existantes pour pallier à ce problème.

C'est la qu'intervient Next.js qui permet de faire en outre du rendu côté serveur, la génération statique. la génération statique permet de générer toutes les pages en construction, ce qui rendra l'application plus rapide car les données sont déjà disponibles et pas besoin de faire une requête pour récupérer les données.

Next.js offre la possibilité d'utiliser :

  • Le rendu côté serveur (Contenu indexable par les moteurs de recherche)
  • La génération statique ( Contenu indexable par les moteurs de recherche)
  • La génération statique avec incrémentation (Contenu indexable par les moteurs de recherche)
  • Le rendu côté client (contenu difficilement indexable par les moteurs de recherche)

Conclusion

Pour résumé avec Next.js vous pouvez utiliser le rendu côté client pour le dashboard ou les pages privées, le rendu côté serveur pour le contenu des pages qui changent souvent, la génération statique pour les pages statiques et la generation statique avec incrémentation pour les pages dont le contenu changent occasionnellement

Elle a été déployée sur Vercel